Back to News

Christian Chamber of Commerce confers annual awards

Sept. 22, 2013

The eleventh annual general body meeting and the annual award ceremony of Christian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) were held at Hotel Kohinoor Continental banquet hall, Andheri (East) here on Saturday September 21 evening. Mumbai auxiliary Bishop Dr John Rodrigues was the chief guest of the occasion.

Income tax chief commissioner Abrar Ahmed who was the guest of honour presented the annual awards to Fr Francis D’Britto (Excellence in Social Service), George M Thampi (Excellence in Industry), Michael Pinto (Excellence in Public Service), Dr Francin Pinto (Excellence as Women Entrepreneur), John Shiby Mathew (Excellence as Young Enterpreneur), Moses Gomes and Jean Moses (Excellence in the field of Education). Dr Richard Pereira introduced the awardees. Speaking on the occasion, Bishop John said, “Everything goes well if one does social service out of free will.  The need of the hour is to create awareness on social service among children. Trust and positive thinking is essential for the society to prosper.  The awards bring recognition to the individuals and motivate them to return the debt of society. Unity also is bolstered through the conferring of awards.”

Abrar Ahmed said that minority communities are availing state facilities, and approaching NGOs to get higher education. He said he was fortunate to study further and acknowledged serving in state administration during the reign of CM Antulay. Christians are indeed a minority, but are intellectuals.  They try to understand the issues and educate others and thereby return the debt of society.  It is noteworthy indeed that this community is committed to the welfare of society in general.  CCCI also strives in this regard, said Abrar.  He also urged people to co-operate with the government in paying taxes as the country is facing economic setback and urged them to pray for early recovery.

CCCI president Henry Lobo felicitated Janet Lawrence D’Souza, newly-appointed deputy chairperson of Maharashtra State Minority Commission during the programme. Henry in his presidential address said that the conferring of awards goes a long way in encouraging budding entrepreneurs to explore their entrepreneurial talent.  It is not to glorify any individual, said Henry. CCCI founder president Vincent Mathias was present on the dais. CCCI vice-president Albert W D’Souza, Antony Sequeira and John D’Silva introduced the dignitaries. Bombay Bunts Association president advocate Ratnakar V Shetty, hotelier Sudhakar S Hegde, Catholic Sabha Mumbai Pradesh president Lawrence D’Souza, former president Dolphy D’Souza and others were present on the occasion. CCCI directors John Mathew, Lawrence Coelho, Johnson Therattil, Augustino G Fernandes, legal committee convener advocate Pius Vaz, secretary Felix D’Souza, office-bearers were also present.

Philomena H Lobo, Elaina A D’Souza and Prameela V Mathias honored the guests with bouquets.  Kenneth Sequeira and Lara Menezes compered the programme. CCCI director Agnelllo Rajesh Athaide proposed the vote of thanks. Prior to conferring of awards, the eleventh annual general body meeting was held under the chairmanship of CCCI president Henry Lobo. To conclude the programme, Neha Chandna (Ranglani), dietician, nutrition educator and exercise counselor held an educative programme for the women members on the occasion.


icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-soundcloud icon-youtube